Our Leadership

Home/About Us/Our Leadership

Our Leadership

<strong>Margaret “Peg” Overdorf</strong>
Margaret “Peg” OverdorfThe Valley Community Associations’s Executive Director
Valley Community Association Executive Director Margaret “Peg” Overdorf has dedicated 40 years to the organization and surrounding community. Most recently, she has secured 17 grants worth over $5 million to build Buffalo River Fest Park, located at 249 Ohio Street on the Buffalo River. The park contains boat docks, a lodge with public restrooms, and a band shell. In addition, with then NYS Assemblyman, who is now City of Buffalo Comptroller, Mark Schroeder, the VCA was able to negotiate the construction of Mutual Riverfront Park at 41 Hamburg Street.

Peg has distinguished herself as a tireless community advocate and her many accomplishments are well known throughout Buffalo and Western New York. She works diligently to ensure that programs, services, and opportunities are made available to enable all people to reach their highest potential.

In addition, Peg devotes countless hours of her time and energy to promoting community togetherness, neighborhood spirit, and ethnic pride. She is the founder of the renowned “Old Neighborhood” St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Buffalo and is responsible for developing the Buffalo River Fest, a region-wide event that focuses on the restoration and beautification of the Buffalo River Front. She also led the effort to turn what was once a polluted dumping ground into the Valley Nature Park and Habitat Trail.

Over the years, Peg has received many awards including the Erie County Council on the Prevention of Alcohol & Substance Abuse Award; the Friends of the Buffalo River Award; the Goin South Civic Pride Award; the All America Cities Civic Empowerment Award; the Greater South Buffalo Chamber of Commerce Community Service Award; the Buffalo Niagara Riverkeeper Green Key Award; and has been honored by the Buffalo Police Department.

Peg Overdorf’s Awards

  • Buffalo Police Department – 1991
  • Bishop Timon High School Community Service Award – 1993
  • Trocaire College McAuley Award – 1996
  • Erie County Council on the Prevention of Alcohol & Substance Abuse – 1999
  • Police Emerald Society – 2000
  • Friends of the Buffalo River – 2000
  • Goin’ South Civic Pride Award – 2004
  • All America Cities Civic Empowerment Award – 2004
  • Greater South Buffalo Chamber of Commerce Community Service Award – 2005
  • Buffalo Niagara Riverkeeper Green Key Award – 2006
  • Bishop Timon Hillery Foundation- 2011
  • Trocaire College President’s Distinguished Service Award – 2012
  • Erie Niagara Chapter NYS Society of Professional Engineers Citizen of the Year Award – 2012
  • Buffalo WNY Chapter of American Institute of Architects Community Service Award – 2014
  • ArtVoice “Best Local Hero” – 2014
  • Leadership Buffalo Service Award – 2015

Board of Directors

Carolyn LopezPresident
Joe CarpinoVice President
Judy NowakSecretary

  • William “Chip” Butler
  • James Cosgrove
  • Sharon Comerford
  • John Cywinski
  • Cathy Decker
  • Tom Dixon
  • Matthew Dobson
  • Cheri Dolan
  • Joan Dunbar
  • Maggie Hoffstetter
  • Bert Hyde
  • Cheryl Martinez
  • Charlotte Misuraca
  • Mike Mulqueen
  • Nancy Redeye
  • Mark Rojek
  • Mark Smith
  • Bart Sumbrum